Activities · College · Lifestyle

What to do with a Snow Day

It’s that time of year! Living in a location on the coast in New England has its perks, and one major one is the amount of snow we manage to accumulate each year. My semester has only been three weeks long so far and we have already had three snow days (including today)! Aside from the fact that you get to sleep in, there is something so magical about cozying up inside and watching the snow build up all around you outside.

Now, I as much as anyone understand how easy it is to fall into the slump of staying in bed all day and only moving to heat up your tea or take a bathroom break. While that can be a great way to spend a few hours of your day, there is nothing stopping you from still continuing to be productive! Here are a few things I like to fill my snow day with to balance out relaxation with still checking things off my to-do list.

e94ddcaf7a3437c9fb2dae29e1c65ac2

Via: Pinterest

Organizing Your Home

I love taking a chunk of time on snow days to do some organization. This morning I pulled out all of the food in my cabinets and organized it in a more cohesive way. It was very cathartic to see it go from a crammed and chaotic mess to something that will help make mealtime a little easier. Plus it allowed me to see the food that I didn’t even know was there (looking at you, year old ramen packets), and finally get rid of it.

250428199_1280x720

Via: Google

Exercising Without Leaving Your House

Snow days give you a super legit reason for skipping out on the gym: the roads are genuinely dangerous and definitely not worth driving on just to squeeze in a workout. HOWEVER this doesn’t mean you have to skip out entirely, there are plenty of things you can do in the comfort of your own home! I went to a Zumba class last night and woke up with a very sore body, so I started off my day with some stretching. I’m a big fan of doing yoga in my room as well, since you don’t need a large amount of space or equipment to do it. Do Yoga With Me is my favorite online yoga resource, and Fiji is my favorite instructor. Her vinyasa flows are great for relaxation, strength, and getting sweaty.

Chores

Okay, bear with me on this one. I know these aren’t exactly a favorite to do on a day designed for relaxation, but I love doing chores on a snow day for a few reasons. First, it allows me to get things like laundry, vacuuming, and changing my sheets out of the way when I actually have time to do them. There is nothing worse than having no time to do laundry, but also no clean socks to wear as you’re racing out the door. It also acts as a sneaky form of exercise, since you are on your feet cleaning instead of just laying down and being a potato. Also, I sometimes need to feel like I’ve earned my relaxation time, and if I know I have it makes that TV show or book that much more satisfying to dig into.

broccoli-cheese-soup-2-550-opt

Via: Brown Eyed Baker

Pick an Activity You Have Been Meaning to Do

Trying out a new recipe? Making a DIY craft? Picking out a killer new workout playlist? Having free time on a snow day gives you a glorious opportunity to finally have no excuses about doing something you have been meaning to. Granted, I have been dying to try out the broccoli cheddar soup recipe from the image above, but since I cannot get to the grocery store (hi 8 inches of snow) I think I’ll have to hold off on it for now.

200_s

Via: Google (Donna Meagle everybody)

Giving Yourself Some Me Time

Since I’ve told you to organize, exercise, and do chores, it’s only fair I let you treat yourself a bit! Draw a bath, make some hot coco, dance around in your underwear; whatever makes you happy! I’m thinking a face mask, lighting a candle, and dipping my head into a Europe guide book once I’m ready to go into relaxation mode. Snow days are fundamentally lazy, so I could never expect you to be running at 100% all day when I definitely don’t do that myself!

I hope this has given you some inspiration on what to do when you’re hit with a snow day next. I hope you’re having a wonderful Thursday, see you in my next post!

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

