Lifestyle

Beat the Back to School Blues

Ah late January. The conclusion to a blissful month-long vacation from deadlines, lab reports, and grouchy professors. Sadly, all good things must come to an end. I just got back to school and am in the weird transition period from having nothing to do, to becoming insanely busy overnight. I’m also a total baby when it comes to change, so I’m also already feeling a little homesick. That’s when I got the idea for this post. I have a few things I do almost every time I come back from a winter break and they really help me transition from a homesick mess to a boss little lady who is ready to conquer the semester ahead. Enjoy!

Reorganize your room: I thrive when my space is clean, organized, and laid out in a way that is appealing to me. Ask my roommate, I have rearranged my room approximately 10 times since moving in last year. It just makes me happy, as weird as that may sound! Below are before and after pictures of what I did today.

img_6016

Before

img_6017

After!

Chat with a friend/boyfriend: This one seems like a no-brainer but it really is something that works. It helps to make you feel less alone, even if the interaction is done over the computer or phone.

Watch an episode of your favorite show: I started to feel a wave of panic about being back come over me, so I took a deep breath, made a mug of peppermint tea, and put on an episode of How I Met Your Mother. The familiarity of this ritual instantly made me feel better.

img_6018

My favorite mug…guesses on who gave it to me??

Write in your planner for the upcoming weeks: This goes with the theme of organization equaling some sort of peace in life. I outlined my schedule for the week and it lifted a little something off my shoulders, which in turn improved my mood.

Treat yourself to something extra special: Whether that’s a face mask, an extra helping of dessert(always my go-to), or a little online shopping,  pampering yourself more than normal will definitely help make you feel better.

Good luck with the start of your semester!

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

