Lifestyle

Keep the Change

So I sit here drinking a glass of rose, wearing a baggy sweatshirt, and sporting last night’s makeup while listening to my family talk about savings. Ugh. Fun fact, I am not exactly a wizard when it comes to money. But when did it suddenly become the norm to already have a bunch of money saved up when you just barely gained the ability to legally drink alcohol?

*Lizzie McGuire gulp*

lizziefilm2

Via: Here

I’m not as worried about money for the future, however at the moment when I am unemployed and on the brink of graduation, it’s hard not to be concerned. I take solace in the fact that I am totally not the only person in this situation. Being in my early twenties, I know some of the best times of my life will happen in the next five years, and I can only hope that I will have a financial situation figured out by then. In the meantime though,  becoming educated on the topic seems to be the smartest decision.

This article from Kiplinger, while a little dry, gives some great advice on savings. For example, it states that saving $100 a month (which you can pretend is a bill you must pay) starting at the age of 25 will compound to around $345,000 by the time you are 65. I don’t know about you but that’s an insane amount of money to me! Keep in mind that this tip doesn’t apply until you have a steady income, trust me there’s no way I could accomplish this now.

Something else that I have picked up from my parents is keeping all of your change, and putting it into a container at the end of the day. I’ve definitely been guilty of just dumping change into a tip jar when I have been too lazy to carry it around. Little did I know I was giving up more money than I knew, so I have tried to be better about saving change.

One other tip I have is to cancel subscription services that you know you don’t use enough to justify their price. I had a subscription to Chegg for a few years, which was $16 a month, and I had a Netflix account as well ($10/month). So, that was $26 a month for two services that evidently weren’t worth it. By cancelling both, not only am I watching less TV and not cheating on homework assignments by looking up the answers, I am also saving $312 a year! It’s a win,win,win.

Saving money doesn’t have to be a treacherous task. There are definitely ways to simplify it and I hope these short little tips make even the thought of starting a little more attractive.

-Sarah

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

